## Drake University Law School Supreme Court Celebration Banquet Speakers

2023	Deborah Enix-Ross, President, American Bar Associaton
2022	Ronald L. Olson, BN'63, Partner, Munger, Tolles & Olson, LLP
2021	Jim Overdorf, LW'86, Senior Vice President of Football Administration, Buffalo Bills
2019	Akhil Reed Amar, Sterling Professor of Law, Yale Law School
2018	Hilarie Bass, President, American Bar Association
2017	The Hon. Solomon Oliver Jr., Chief Judge, U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Ohio
2016	Paulette Brown, President, American Bar Association
2015	Earl F. "Marty" Martin, President-elect, Drake University
2014	Guy Cook, President, Iowa State Bar Association
2013	The Hon. John Jarvey, Chief District Court Judge, U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Iowa
2012	The Hon. Joel Novak, District Court Judge, Fifth District of Iowa
2011	William T. Robinson III, President-elect, American Bar Association
2009	Stephen Rapp, Ambassador-at-Large, Office of Global Criminal Justice, U.S. Department of State
2008	Robert Grey Jr., President, American Bar Association
2007	Tom Vilsak, Governor of Iowa
2006	Justin Webb, Chief Washington Correspondent, BBC Radio
2005	Jan R. Schlichtmann, attorney and activist
2004	The Hon. Alex Kozinski, Chief Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

2003	John Kerry, U.S. Senator, Massachusetts
2002	Tom Harkin, U.S. Senator, Iowa
2001	John Edwards, U.S. Senator, North Carolina
2000	The Hon. Arthur A. McGivern, Chief Justice, Iowa Supreme Court
1999	The Hon. Richard Matsch, Chief Judge, U.S. District Court for the District of Colorado
1998	J. Robert Kerrey, U.S. Senator, Nebraska
1997	Janet Napolitano, U.S. Attorney for the District of Arizona
1996	James A. Leach, U.S. Representative, Iowa
1995	Roberta Cooper Ramo, President-elect, American Bar Association
1994	Janet Reno, U.S. Attorney General
1993	The Hon. A. Leon Higginbotham Jr., Chief Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
1992	Michael G. Gartner, President, NBC News
1991	Richard Thornburgh, U.S. Attorney General
1990	Patricia Schroeder, U.S. Representative, Colorado
1989	William S. Sessions, Director, Federal Bureau of Investigation
1988	James McElhaney, Joseph C. Hostetler Professor of Trial Advocacy, Case Western Reserve University Law School
1987	Dale L. Bumpers, U.S. Senator, Arkansas
1986	Irving Younger, Marvin J. Sonosky Professor of Law, University of Minnesota Law School
1985	The Hon. Sandra Day O'Connor, Justice, U.S. Supreme Court
1984	Donald Kaul, columnist, Des Moines Tribune
1983	Robert E. White, U.S. Ambassador, El Salvador
1982	Charles Percy, U.S. Senator, Illinois

1981	F. Lee Bailey, nationally renowned trial attorney
1980	William Webster, Director, Federal Bureau of Investigation
1979	William Proxmire, U.S. Senator, Wisconsin
1978	Gerald Gunther, William Nelson Cromwell Professor of Law, Stanford University Law School
1977	William Colby, Director, Central Intelligence Agency
1976	Chesterfield H. Smith, President, American Bar Association
1975	Charles Kuralt, correspondent, CBS News
1974	Elliott Richardson, Secretary of Defense and U.S. Attorney General
1972	Mark Hatfield, U.S. Senator, Washington
1968	The Hon. Charles S. Desmond, Chief Judge, New York Court of Appeals
1967	Emile T. Berman, defense attorney
1966	Percy Mossle, defense attorney
1965	Thomas S. Lambert Jr., Counsel, United States Trial at Nuremberg
1964	Bert H. Early, Executive Director, American Bar Association
1963	Sylvester C. Smith, President, American Bar Association
1960	The Hon. Thomas Clark, Justice, U.S. Supreme Court and former U.S. Attorney General
1958	William B. Lockhart, Dean, University of Minnesota
1952	Howard L. Barkdoll, President, American Bar Association
1951	Albert J. Harno, University of Illinois Law School
1950	Luther Hill, publisher, The Des Moines Register and Tribune
1949	Frank E. Homan, President, American Bar Association
1948	The Hon. Maynard E. Pirsig, Justice, Minnesota Supreme Court, and Professor, University of Minnesota

1947	Wayne Morse, U.S. Senator, Oregon
1941	The Hon. Charles F. Wennerstrum, Justice, Iowa Supreme Court
1940	Harley Stipp, President, Iowa State Bar Association
1916	The Hon. William H. McHenry, Judge